If I cast light on a small pebble and placed it in a sealed, transparent glass jar would it emit light outside of the jar?
The reason I am asking is because the rules for areas of effects say:
A spell’s effect expands in straight lines from the point of origin. If no unblocked straight line extends from the point of origin to a location within the area of effect, that location isn’t included in the spell’s area. To block one of these imaginary lines, an obstruction must provide total cover.
That means that the jar (which provides total cover) would prevent anything outside of the jar from being in light's area of effect. So, it seems to me that the rules imply that nothing outside the jar would be illuminated.
This actually does have potential mechanical implications in the game as can be seen in this question: Can magical darkness affect a magical light source that is in a sealed container?.
Am I missing something here or is this just an example of the rules creating a nonsensical effect?