The spell evolution surge allows a summoner to grant his eidolon temporary evolution points that can then be spent so that the eidolon gains the evolution large.

An unchained summoner's eidolon can benefit from spells cast by its summoner that normally wouldn't be able to affect it, like the spell enlarge person.

Because the evolution large could've been gained naturally, can a temporarily large eidolon then benefit from the spell enlarge person?

  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan Why would you specify the greater version when the normal version will grant 4 points which is enough? \$\endgroup\$ – Fering Apr 27 '18 at 18:23
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan I see you have already taken care of it. Yes, that format does suck. I wish that the lowest was first and then progressed in order, clearly. \$\endgroup\$ – Fering Apr 27 '18 at 18:31

From enlarge person,

Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack.

But the evolution Large is listed as (Ex), making it non-magical. And greater evolution surge isn’t increasing the eidolon’s size, the non-magical Large evolution is doing that.

So, rules as written, I agree that enlarge person, when applied to an eidolon who already has the Large evolution, should make that eidolon Huge. Whether or not the Large evolution came from greater evolution surge is, as far as I can tell, completely irrelevant.

Whether or not I would actually allow that, or any other GM would, I’m less sure. Enlarge person has a lot of problems (most importantly that casting time), so I’m not convinced that this is a problem, but eidolons are pretty powerful as it is.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Good to know that with 3 spells I can become large, huge, and finally gargantuan. Muwhahaha. But yes, I agree that most DM's would say no. \$\endgroup\$ – Fering Apr 27 '18 at 18:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.