10
\$\begingroup\$

In Xanathar's Guide to Everything, the Path of the Zealot gives a barbarian the "Rage Beyond Death" ability at level 14 (emphasis mine):

Rage beyond Death

Beginning at 14th level, the divine power that fuels your rage allows you to shrug off fatal blows.
While you’re raging, having 0 hit points doesn’t knock you unconscious. You still must make death saving throws, and you suffer the normal effects of taking damage while at 0 hit points. However, if you would die due to failing death saving throws, you don’t die until your rage ends, and you die then only if you still have 0 hit points.

RAW, this says that regardless of your death saves, if you receive healing before the end of your rage and have 1 HP, you remain alive regardless of the outcomes of your death saves.

Is that the case? And is that RAI?

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, it is the case.

Your reading is correct - the PC stays alive even if they fail their death saving throws (or, more generally, get 3 failures on death saving throws any way - including damage from enemies, which is most likely), if they are healed before their rage ends.

Yes, it seems to be Rules as Intended.

The wording is very clear and explicitly states the situation:

However, if you would die due to failing death saving throws, you don’t die until your rage ends, and you die then only if you still have 0 hit points.

If it was not intended, that last clause would not exist. The phrase could just end before that statement, something on the lines of:

However, if you would die due to failing death saving throws, you don’t die until your rage ends.

Note that, RAW, you can still die by other means.

The feature prevents death from failed death saving throws, but not any other kinds of death - for example, death from massive damage is still possible.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Noting that a L14 Barbarian will have 150 max hp or more on average so there are very few effects in the game that can kill them with massive damage. \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M May 1 '18 at 6:04
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ Agreed. There aren't many things dealing 20d10 damage and then high-rolling it. But I wanted to mention it just as a clarification that the Barbarian is not immortal. Other instant death effects also work. (Like a CR2 brain-like creature eating your brain-like brain) \$\endgroup\$ – HellSaint May 1 '18 at 6:10
  • 8
    \$\begingroup\$ @HellSaint - Of note: That doesn't actually kill you until it vacates your body. And in the case of a Barbarian, it's probably a marked improvement on his intellect anyways. \$\endgroup\$ – Lino Frank Ciaralli May 1 '18 at 7:03
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @HellSaint or Power Word Kill \$\endgroup\$ – Vylix May 1 '18 at 8:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ Or hit with disintegrate while having too low of HP to remain above 0. \$\endgroup\$ – Joshua Nov 19 '18 at 1:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.