1
\$\begingroup\$

Last night when I was DMing I had an NPC wizard who had Magic Missile. The description states “each dart hits a creature of your choice”.

In this instance what would be considered a creature? The player characters?

When I look up creature in the manual it looks like “a creature” means an animal and not a humanoid, so Magic Missile would not be effective. I guess this would be true the other way as well: if I am playing a wizard I could not target most humanoid monsters/villains.

Am I reading this right?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site! If you have a minute, consider taking the tour which will earn you a badge! You can always head over to help center or Role-playing Games Chat if you have any questions as well. This looks like it already has an answer. If the answers from the duplicates don't fully address your question please edit it to include why and flag this for re-opening. Thanks! \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose May 2 '18 at 21:29