Phantasmal Force

2nd-level Illusion

Casting Time: 1 action

Range: 60 feet

If I were to cast this spell, and either I or the target otherwise become greater than 60 feet away from each other during the duration, would the spell fail/end?

There is precedent in other spells like Witch Bolt which specifically says the spell ends if the target is outside the spell's range, but Phantasmal Force never specifies such a condition.


On page 203 of the PHB you can find the answer clearly:

Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.