2
\$\begingroup\$

Phantasmal Force

2nd-level Illusion

Casting Time: 1 action

Range: 60 feet

If I were to cast this spell, and either I or the target otherwise become greater than 60 feet away from each other during the duration, would the spell fail/end?

There is precedent in other spells like Witch Bolt which specifically says the spell ends if the target is outside the spell's range, but Phantasmal Force never specifies such a condition.

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

On page 203 of the PHB you can find the answer clearly:

Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.