3
\$\begingroup\$

Say a sorcerer had a page of spell knowledge with cure light wounds and a wand of cure light wounds. Would the page of spell knowledge allow them to cast from the wand without UMD checks?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

No, your specific example doesn't work.

Wands use the Spell Trigger activation method, which says -

Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can’t actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin.

So, as long as the user's class can cast the spell, the user can activate the wand.

Alas, the Page of Spell Knowledge says -

If the bearer is a spontaneous spellcaster and has that spell on her class spell list, she may use her spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her spells known.

So, a Sorcerer cannot use a Page of Spell Knowledge to enable casting of Cure Light Wounds, which also stops him from using a Wand of CLW. And, a Sorcerer can also already activate wands containing spells on the Sorcerer/Wizard list, even if he does not have those spells in his list of Spells Known.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.