11
\$\begingroup\$

Can Special Attacks be used to perform a Cross-Up?

The rules in the combat section state (emphasis mine):

If a combatant can jump forward 2 Ranges to attack with a Basic Move and land exactly at Range 0, and then chooses to spend an additional 1 FS, the combatant can do a Cross-Up Attack.

A Basic Move is, by definition, not a Special Move, and thus cannot have Elements or Liabilities associated with it.

However, there is a Liability named Cross-Up Liability that can be added to Special Moves that reads (emphasis mine):

This move can only be used if it is used in a Cross-Up situation. Otherwise, it automatically misses.

Also by definition, a Liability can only be added to Special Moves, and not to Basic Moves.

How does this interact? It appears that it is possible to make a Special Move that can only be used as a Cross-Up, but it also appears that Special Moves cannot be used to Cross-Up at all.

Does the Liability also grant the ability to Cross-Up? (Generally, Liabilities are strictly negative effects, and such a beneficial effect would require an Element.) Does the word "situation" mean that it can be used in a similar scenario, but does not gain the usual benefits of being a Cross-Up? Is there another way to make Special Moves able to Cross-Up? Are one of the rules incorrect?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ What is the logical chain that leads you up to the "Special Moves cannot be used to Cross-Up at all" ? I am not seeing it in the rules you provide here. The first statement I would parse as "If you are able to do A but choose to spend additional resources, you can instead do B". No limitations on B here specifically. \$\endgroup\$
    – Nox
    Commented May 10, 2018 at 14:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Nox I agree that the wording could be interpreted that way, but the section that is from is the only section that discusses Cross-Up Attacks (in its own section labeled as such). I see it as saying "The way - and the only way - to do B is to do A." I'm taking this from the context that there is no other explanation of what a Cross-Up Attack is in the book, AFAIK. \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 10, 2018 at 15:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ I sent the message to one of the game creators (I know him via a superhero RPG forum) and hopefully he'll stop by for an answer. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 18, 2022 at 18:24

1 Answer 1

3
\$\begingroup\$

I concede that the rule on p. 220 could be explained better. A "Cross-Up Situation" is one in which one moves 2 Ranges and stops at Range 0 exactly and then spends 1 FS. Normally, this cannot be done with a Special Move unless it is a move with the Cross-Up Liability. Essentially, the Limitation provides one very specific situation in which it can be used.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! You might want to take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – Jack
    Commented Apr 26, 2022 at 20:30

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .