In the DMG on page 272, there are rules of injuries if you take a critical hit, drop to 0 hp, or fail a death saving throw by 5 or more. The table that is used gives different things that could happen and in the game that I am running, an NPC attacked a PC and got a critical hit on him. I rolled on the table and rolled a 2. It states
Lose an Arm or a Hand. You can no longer hold anything with two hands, and you can hold only a single object at a time. Magic such as the regenerate spell can restore the lost appendage.
The problem I'm facing is that the NPC was actually an ally that was only insulted by the PC and was only doing subdual damage to knock him out and didn't want to knock off the hand, he wasn't even aiming for the hand. He was also only using his fist and isn't a monk and doesn't have the Tavern Brawler feat. His strength is also a 14. Is the hand still punched off or is it just broken?