3
\$\begingroup\$

Kinda a follow-up from What creatures can cast spells from scrolls?. Actually, a more specific case, just to be sure.

About Spell Scrolls:

If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material Components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible.

From what I understand from the rulings and seems to be accepted by this answer, creatures can only cast spells from spell scrolls if they have a Spellcasting ability linked to a class. Innate Spellcasters don't, so they can't. Is that right?

In particular, does it change if the Spell Scroll is specific to a Spell that the Creature knows? For example, can a Mind Flayer (the normal one, not the Arcanist Variant) cast Dominate Monster from a spell scroll? (Mind Flayers can otherwise innately cast the spell)

I can see it being house-ruled as a Yes, similar to how clerics can cast Fireballs from scrolls (depending on their domain), since the spells they learn from the domain are included on their "class' spell list", but from RAW I understand it as a No. Is my reading correct?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ The reason I don't see it as a duplicate from the first is because from my point of view the particularity of this case is not completely encompassed by the previous question (reason why I got in doubt, to begin with). I can see the previous question being edited to include this one, but I didn't want to edit someone's else question. \$\endgroup\$ – HellSaint May 10 '18 at 2:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yannick MG and I talked a little about this question on the chat. Link to the start of the conversation here. It might help to understand the question better. I'm not sure if any of it should be added to the question itself though. \$\endgroup\$ – HellSaint May 10 '18 at 3:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ Its a duplicate - the accepted answer to that question is the answer to this question. \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M May 10 '18 at 4:58
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I believe I have now thoroughly answered this question after expanding on my other answer. \$\endgroup\$ – Yannick MG May 10 '18 at 5:14