11
\$\begingroup\$

While you're standing in a Paladin ally's Aura of Courage:

[the Paladin] and friendly creatures within 10 feet of [the Paladin] can’t be Frightened while [the Paladin is] conscious.

Does this prevent effects that cause Frightened from applying at all, or only suspend them while you stand near your Paladin?

Example: I am standing next to my level 10+ Paladin friend, and we are facing an Ancient Red Dragon. It uses its Frightful Presence.

Do I:

A) Do nothing - I am immune to this effect as a result of the aura.

B) Roll the saving throw - and if I fail the effect is applied to me, but the Frightened condition involved in it is suppressed as long as I am near my Paladin.

This Q&A asks a similar question, but after such an effect has already been applied to a PC - I feel the answer may be different when it comes to the initial application of the effect.

Due to the identical wording, it's likely that any answers to this question would apply to the Devotion Paladin's Aura of Devotion and charm effects as well.

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

A) Do nothing - I am immune to this effect as a result of the aura.

From Crawford's Twitter:

RAW is unclear. RAI is that [the condtition] is precluded/suspended while you're in the aura.

Precluded: prevented from happening.

While Jeremy Crawford's Tweet was for Aura of Devotion, the wording on both Auras is identical save for the condition they affect, and the ruling should apply to both. My interpretation of the ruling is that:

  1. If you are within your paladin ally's Aura of Courage radius, you are immune from being Frightened and do not have to save versus the Ancient Red Dragon's Frightful Presence.

  2. If, at any point, you are outside the Aura of Courage radius and the Ancient Red Dragon used its Frightful Presence, you would have to save normally.

  3. If you already suffer from the Frightened condition, then move within your paladin ally's Aura of Courage radius, the condition is suspended temporarily while you remain within the radius.

This fits both the RAW which states for Aura of Courage:

Starting at 10th level, you and friendly creatures within 10 feet of you can’t be frightened while you are conscious.

And also fits Crawford's Tweet.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Vylix Edited to clear up any confusion, hopefully. \$\endgroup\$ – Tenryu May 13 '18 at 12:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ Since, you get a new save each turn. I might allow a new save when exiting the paladin's aura if already frightened. \$\endgroup\$ – ravery May 13 '18 at 12:51
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @NickBrown Indeed, and that was the conclusion of this question: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/117083/… \$\endgroup\$ – Vigil May 13 '18 at 22:06
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Vylix No, Frightful Presence is an action for the Ancient Red Dragon and does not persist beyond the turn, so if you were inside the Aura at that time it doesn't affect you once you leave. If you left and the Dragon used its ability, then you would have to save. Edited answer to include this. \$\endgroup\$ – Tenryu May 14 '18 at 0:04
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Ravery No, Frightful Presence is an action for the Ancient Red Dragon and does not persist beyond the turn. If you suffer the effect by failing the saving throw, the Frightened condition persists until you succeed on the throw each round or 1 minute passes. \$\endgroup\$ – Tenryu May 14 '18 at 0:04

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.