In the the recent Unearthed Arcana they released Centaurs as a playable race. These creatures have an ability that says

Finally, a Medium or smaller creature can ride on your equine back if you allow it. In such a situation you continue to act independently, not as a controlled mount.

Centaurs are medium creatures. Thusly, my question is as follows:

  1. Could Centaur A ride on Centaur B, and then Centaur C rides on Centaur A
  2. If so, are there any limitations on how many centaurs could be stacked?
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ zanman, I've rolled back your edit that includes the tweet from Jeremy Crawford. If it answers the question you are encouraged to answer your own question but please post it in the appropriate answer section :) If you do post it as an answer please note also that you should quote the relevant text in your answer, not just leave the link. \$\endgroup\$ – Purple Monkey May 16 '18 at 4:32
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ Mearls seems to be having fun with this... "Centaurs are now AL legal so long as they ride or are ridden by another PC centaur." \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast May 16 '18 at 6:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you want the stack to be able to move? \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast May 16 '18 at 17:23

Crawford deemed it to not work

So, a few minutes after I posted this question, I found some information from Jeremy Crawford which explained how it didn't work. One of his answers here says that it says "a Medium creature", which does not include creatures on top of other creatures:

Twitter user: Just so you know, the #DND hive mind has already decided that a medium centaur can ride a centaur riding a centaur ... (repeat) ... riding a centaur. The puzzle is solved. It's centaurs all the way down.

Crawford: If your DM decides that "a Medium creature" actually means "a tower of Medium creatures," that's an amazingly trippy, English-defying campaign you're playing. Live the dream!"

In response, someone else asked him to clarify whether centaurs could ride other centaurs; another tweet by Crawford explained that mounts must have suitable size and anatomy to ride it:

Twitter user: Doesn't that still mean that a centaur can ride another centaur?

Crawford: The rules on riding a mount specify that a mount must have a suitable size and anatomy for you to ride it (PH, 198). If the game makes an exception to part of that rule—about the creature's size, for instance—the other part of the rule still stands.

While I could personally see the argument that only one Medium creature would be "riding" the centaur, the second makes the centaur deathstack invalid.

  • 13
    \$\begingroup\$ @Rekesoft RPG.se is not the site for cracking sex jokes. Our code of conduct prohibits anything “sexually suggestive”, with no allowance for “but it's funny”. Please don't do that. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie May 16 '18 at 15:06

No, There are no such limitations.

That said, this is Unearthed Arcana material and requires even more finishing than regular 5e material to be ready for play. Simple solutions include making Centaurs Large (I mean, horses are Large and regular Centaurs are large so...), generally prohibiting Towers of Rage by ruling that mounted creatures cannot themselves be mounted, or just ruling that centaurs can't mount stuff in general or always count as mounted and you can't mount more than one creature or similar.

But no, in the base game with the inclusion of this Unearthed Arcana there's nothing stopping this from working.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ You say nothing is stopping this, yet the bold answer says "NO". Also carrying capacity would play a role, perhaps? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 May 16 '18 at 4:38
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 That's what I was thinking as well - the carrying capacity rules prevent stacking centaurs given that a typical horse weighs > 1,000 lbs. \$\endgroup\$ – RobertF May 16 '18 at 15:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 That'd be a reasonable ruling. The base rules don't indicate you have to pick a weight that'd be inconvenient for your centaur (see rpg.stackexchange.com/a/102481/14848). \$\endgroup\$ – the dark wanderer May 16 '18 at 20:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.