When a new character is made in Savage Worlds, they have 15 points to spend on skills. According to the rulebook:

Each die type costs 1 point (starting at d4)

The point of confusion for me here is this: When I spend a skill point, do I have a d4 in that skill, or a d6? Does "starting at" mean that the skill starts there and skill points increase above that level, or does it mean that your first skill point starts you at d4?


1 Answer 1


The first skill point gets you a d4. Each die size costs 1 point, and the first is a d4.

The reason it specifies this is because it works differently from attributes. For those you get a d4 for free to start — because everyone has each attribute inherently — and the first point spent on an attribute upgrades the default d4 to a d6. Meanwhile, nobody starts life trained in every skill, so skills start at d-nothing, and the first point upgrades that to a d4.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It might be worth mentioning the rule for rolling against an untrained skill just to round this answer off \$\endgroup\$
    – Wibbs
    May 19, 2018 at 7:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ Perhaps "everyone doesn’t have every skill" should be replaced with "not everyone has every skill" because it is indeed possible for a character to have every skill. \$\endgroup\$ May 19, 2018 at 13:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ @JoelHarmon Good point. How’s that edit? \$\endgroup\$ May 19, 2018 at 15:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ You seem to have covered both comments well. Thanks! \$\endgroup\$ May 19, 2018 at 16:22

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .