4
\$\begingroup\$

When a new character is made in Savage Worlds, they have 15 points to spend on skills. According to the rulebook:

Each die type costs 1 point (starting at d4)

The point of confusion for me here is this: When I spend a skill point, do I have a d4 in that skill, or a d6? Does "starting at" mean that the skill starts there and skill points increase above that level, or does it mean that your first skill point starts you at d4?

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

The first skill point gets you a d4. Each die size costs 1 point, and the first is a d4.

The reason it specifies this is because it works differently from attributes. For those you get a d4 for free to start — because everyone has each attribute inherently — and the first point spent on an attribute upgrades the default d4 to a d6. Meanwhile, nobody starts life trained in every skill, so skills start at d-nothing, and the first point upgrades that to a d4.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It might be worth mentioning the rule for rolling against an untrained skill just to round this answer off \$\endgroup\$ – Wibbs May 19 '18 at 7:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ Perhaps "everyone doesn’t have every skill" should be replaced with "not everyone has every skill" because it is indeed possible for a character to have every skill. \$\endgroup\$ – Joel Harmon May 19 '18 at 13:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ @JoelHarmon Good point. How’s that edit? \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie May 19 '18 at 15:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ You seem to have covered both comments well. Thanks! \$\endgroup\$ – Joel Harmon May 19 '18 at 16:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.