I've seen this question (about whether standing from prone triggers the Booming Blade additional damage) and this one (whether other actions trigger it), but neither seems to address exactly what I'm wondering.

Does teleportation trigger the additional damage from Booming Blade?

Booming Blade's spell description states:

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails. On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and it becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn. If the target willingly moves before then, it immediately takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.

There seems to be some debate on the internet over it, but I don't see any official answer to this from Jeremy Crawford or anything. It seems unclear, since it doesn't use the character's own movement, but obviously teleportation does cause them to end up in a different spot.

To me, it seems as if it wouldn't trigger the additional damage, assuming it works similarly to opportunity attacks... But it doesn't necessarily work the same way. I'd appreciate anyone pointing me to an official ruling one way or the other, or at least making a compelling argument why the rules (or logic) suggest that teleportation should or shouldn't trigger the additional damage.



The spell description says

If the target willingly moves before then,

So is teleportation willing movement?

If you use the definition of movement in the PHB it isn't

Your movement can include jumping, climbing and swimming. These different modes of movement can be combined with walking, or they can constitute your entire move. However you are moving, you deduct the distance of each part of your move from your speed until it is used up or until you are done moving.

In support of this interpretation Jeremy Crawford stated on twitter that...

When booming blade refers to moving, it means movement in the game's normal sense

Teleportation is not listed as a form of movement.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ But: twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/663030224154562561 "Standing up costs movement but moves you nowhere. To move while prone, you crawl or use magic (PH, 191). #DnD" And mentioned PHB 191: "To move while prone, you must crawl or use magic such as teleportation." This may not change the answer, but it is a mention of teleportation as a form of movement. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark wishes Monica well May 20 '18 at 18:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ Important to note that there are at least abilities that mimic teleportation that are being considered as part of movement. The Psionic powers in UA for example. I only bring this up as they are toying with a concept that might call this into question in a future publication. \$\endgroup\$ – Slagmoth May 20 '18 at 19:10
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Mark: Yeah, it's mentions like those that give me pause. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast May 20 '18 at 20:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ How would you deal with the following from PHB page 191: "To move while prone, you must crawl or use magic such as teleportation." Which seems to say that teleportation counts as movement \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Oct 14 '19 at 13:54


On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed.

If you aren’t using up your speed, you aren’t moving, you are being moved by something else.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.