I've seen these 2 questions, but neither seems to address exactly what I'm wondering:
- Does standing up from prone trigger the secondary damage from the Booming Blade cantrip?
- Does the Booming Blade cantrip's secondary damage trigger only when the creature moves locations?
The description of the booming blade spell states (SCAG, p. 142):
As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails. On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and it becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn. If the target willingly moves before then, it immediately takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.
Does teleportation trigger the secondary damage from booming blade?
There seems to be some debate on the internet over it, but I don't see any official answer to this in the Sage Advice Compendium (or unofficially by Jeremy Crawford on Twitter). It seems unclear, since it doesn't use the character's own movement, but obviously teleportation does cause them to end up in a different spot.
To me, it seems as if it wouldn't trigger the additional damage, assuming it works similarly to opportunity attacks... But it doesn't necessarily work the same way. I'd appreciate anyone pointing me to an official ruling one way or the other (or an unofficial ruling, failing that), and making a compelling rules-based argument argument why teleportation would or wouldn't trigger the additional damage.