11
\$\begingroup\$

When customizing a background, you can choose a combination of 2 languages or tool proficiencies. Is it AL-legal to pick 2 exotic languages as your background languages? I'm asking this since I don't know any other background that gives you the knowledge of two exotic languages.

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

This is directly covered in the DDAL FAQ (v. 7.1 on page 6).

Characters may choose exotic languages from any allowed rules source, even if that rules source wasn’t used to create that character (i.e., a character created using the PHB and VGM may still choose a language from the SCAG). Druidic, thieves’ cant, monstrous languages (like Giant Eagle or Qualith), and other languages that are features of a class or background are not eligible choices for this purpose

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.