1
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

Cantrips generally get more powerful as you progress in your spellcasting class.

The Spell Sniper feat allows casting a cantrip.

If you pick a Spell Sniper cantrip from another class will the damage increase? E.g. A level 6 Fighter takes the Spell Sniper feat and chooses Produce Flame. Would the damage be 1d8 or 2d8?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by T.J.L., Carcer, goodguy5, Community May 22 '18 at 12:57

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

4
\$\begingroup\$

2d8

Cantrips increase with your character level, which is independent of how many levels you have in spellcaster classes. If you are a multiclassed level 2 wizard, level 2 druid and level 2 cleric, you are a level 6 character for the purposes of Cantrip damage. The source of the Cantrip (spellcasting class, race, feat, etc) has no impact on this.

Cantrips
If a character has levels in more than one class, do the character’s cantrips scale with character level or with the level in a spellcasting class? Cantrips scale with character level. For example, a barbarian 2 / cleric 3 casts sacred flame as a 5th-level character. (Sage Advice Compendium V_2.0; page 11)

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This answer could be improved with the actual reference to the rule. \$\endgroup\$ – Slagmoth May 22 '18 at 12:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Slagmoth I've seen that there is a dupe for this question (T.J.L.'s comment) so at this point I'd just be stealing quotes from their answers. I'm not sure whether that'd be good practice or not... \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS May 22 '18 at 12:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ Actually, neither of the two high voted answers really quote the relevant passage from the SageAdvice Compendium. The Tweet from Crawford is all well and good but I would say that the SAC is more admissable. \$\endgroup\$ – Slagmoth May 22 '18 at 13:04
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Slagmoth I'll edit in the ref to the other answer as well. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast May 22 '18 at 13:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KorvinStarmast Great. I guess to be fair those were answered prior to the SAC including the ruling from the Tweet, but this will help keep things "current". \$\endgroup\$ – Slagmoth May 22 '18 at 13:06

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.