11
\$\begingroup\$

A Carpet of Flying has the following text:

You can speak the carpet's command word as an action to make the carpet hover and fly. It moves according to your spoken directions, provided that you are within 30 feet of it.

What I'm unsure here is whether you must use your action every turn in order to command the carpet to move, or if the action is just a one-time thing to activate the carpet in the first place (thus taking no action to command the carpet to move).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ can you cite where the text is coming from for easier reference? \$\endgroup\$ – Premier Bromanov May 22 '18 at 15:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ah! Well, the item's description in the Dungeon Master's Guide. \$\endgroup\$ – Gael L May 22 '18 at 15:15
12
\$\begingroup\$

One-time thing

I interpret your quote to mean that the "Command Word" is for activation. It doesn't specifically say that you have to use your action to keep moving it, much like you don't have to command a mount with your action.

If it was intended to work this way, it would make the Flying Carpet kinda useless, especially compared to the spell fly or a flying mount (such as via Find Greater Steed, for example) since you wouldn't be able to do anything else but fly. As pointed out by @T.J.L., larger carpets with many on it wouldn't necessarily suffer this problem as only one of them needs to be "driving" with their action.

Also pointed out by @Premier Bromanov:

[T]here is a distinction between "Command Word" and spoken directions. Whereas the Command Word is coupled with an action and spoken directions are not, and are also generic.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.