5
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

If I'm playing a level 5 character with Spellcasting and multiclass to gain level 1 Warlock gaining Pact Magic, can I use my primary spell slots to cast my Warlock spells?

For example, is casting Hex using one of my 3rd level slots allowed?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Glazius, Rubiksmoose dnd-5e May 30 '18 at 2:22

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi Pyrox, and welcome to the site. Check out our tour to see how we work here. If I understand correctly, you're asking whether someone would learn Hex via multiclassing -- and also, separately, what level they could/would cast it at. (Possibly up to 5th as well, for example.) Is that accurate? \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener May 29 '18 at 16:17
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ The wording on the question is confusing, specially the later phrase. "Can for example Hex then cast as a lvl 1 or 3rd lvl spell?" - do you mean to ask if you can cast Hex with the spell slots from the 5th level caster? \$\endgroup\$ – HellSaint May 29 '18 at 16:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ As per @OneCritWonder edition, the question is now clear, but I hope this is indeed the intent from OP. If it isn't, let's just expect him to change it back, I guess. \$\endgroup\$ – HellSaint May 29 '18 at 21:44
11
\$\begingroup\$

You can choose either.

This is covered on the multiclassing section (p. 164) of the Player's Handbook or the Basic Rules here (emphasis mine):

Pact Magic.
If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature from the warlock class, you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the spellcasting class feature, and you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hmm, interesting reading here: it says you can use the spell slots from Pact Magic to cast the spells from the other class, but it does not say that you can cast the spells you know from Pact Magic using the spell slots from the Spellcasting, or did I miss something? \$\endgroup\$ – HellSaint May 29 '18 at 16:40
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @HellSaint rest of the quote had it \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron May 29 '18 at 16:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ @pyrox it is usually best not to ask questions in comments but it turns out that has already been asked here \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron May 31 '18 at 16:21

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.