8
\$\begingroup\$

Normally with potions you are the caster and target, thus SR would not apply. But if you are force fed a potion is this still the case or would SR still deny the spell?

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

Spell resistance doesn't interfere with a potion's effect

Spell Resistance says that it "never interferes with [a creature's] own spells, items, or abilities."

"Potions are like spells cast upon the imbiber," says Potions on Price of Potions, but "[t]he drinker is both the effective target and the caster of the effect" (emphasis mine). This should see a potion—barring specific exceptions—pretty much always ignore SR.

In other words, it's the potion drinker that matters. The creature feeding the potion to the potion drinker doesn't matter: the drinker's still doing the drinking.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.