10
\$\begingroup\$

Suppose two PCs both ready actions, and the triggering conditions are such that one PC's readied action is triggered by the second PC's readied action.

What's the resulting initiative order if the higher-initiative PC triggers first, and the readied action triggers the lower-initiative PC?

What's the resulting initiative order if the lower-initiative PC triggers first, which then triggers the higher-initiative PC?

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

In both cases, the PC whose action triggered last goes before the one whose action triggered first.

See Ready an Action (Player's Handbook page 291), in particular:

Reset Initiative: After you resolve your readied action, move your place in the initiative order to directly before the creature or the event that triggered your readied action.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ So the math would go something like PCa, PCb, Target. PCa readies for Target. PCb redies for PCa to act. Target makes the action that PCa readied for. PCb's action then triggers. Initiative would move around so that it would read PCb -> PCa -> Target, and the actions that each of them have resolve in that order as well. PCb gets is action, PCa gets to continue his action, then Target gets to finish his action. \$\endgroup\$ – CrystalBlue Feb 9 '12 at 14:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ Correct! That's the break-down of the multiple initiative reset. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Burigo Feb 9 '12 at 14:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ And it doesn't matter whether PCa or PCb originally had higher initiative. \$\endgroup\$ – Snowbody Feb 9 '12 at 14:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.