8
\$\begingroup\$

The Tenser's transformation spell description (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, pg. 168) states:

You endow yourself with endurance and martial prowess fueled by magic. Until the spell ends, you can’t cast spells, and you gain the following benefits:

[...]

  • You can attack twice, instead of once, when you take the Attack action on your turn. You ignore this benefit if you already have a feature, like Extra Attack, that gives you extra attacks.

The description of haste says:

Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, [...] it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.

If wizard A casts the spell Tenser's transformation on himself and wizard B casts haste on A, does this allow A to perform 4 attacks?

In other words: does the fact that haste gives an extra single Attack action prevent Tenser's transformation from triggering?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I suggest including some wording from the spells. Personally, I don't know quite what Tenser's Transformation does, without looking. \$\endgroup\$ – goodguy5 Jun 14 '18 at 19:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ I've edited the question to include the spell descriptions (and links to their DNDBeyond pages). \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 14 '18 at 23:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ Just remember that a single caster cannot maintain both as they require concentration. \$\endgroup\$ – Nestor Ledon Aug 15 '18 at 17:51
22
\$\begingroup\$

Wizard A gets 3 weapon attacks

Tenser's Transformation says:

You can attack twice, instead of once, when you take the Attack action on your turn.

So, when the wizard uses their normal action to Attack, they get to take 2 attacks (per Tenser's Transformation).

When they use the special action from Haste to take the Attack action again, however, they only get one weapon attack because Haste specifically limits the number of attacks to 1.

[The hasted creature] gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used [...] to take the Attack (one weapon attack only) [...] action.

This is a specific restriction which overrides the number of attacks granted by Tenser's Transformation just as it supersedes the same exact ability as granted by Extra Attack.

Thus, a hasted, tenser-transformed wizard gets three weapon attacks.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Rubiksmoose, if a character had Haste and Extra Attack, could they use their standard Attack action to get 2 weapon attacks, and then the haste attraction to get two more attacks, one with a weapon and one without (e.g. a shove)? \$\endgroup\$ – sharur Jun 14 '18 at 22:42
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @sharur: You should ask that as a separate question. (My interpretation would be that you can't use your additional action from Haste to shove/grapple at all, as those are special melee attacks, and Haste only lets you use your additional Attack action to make a single weapon attack.) \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 14 '18 at 23:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast: It was actually a request for clarification on Rubiksmoose's answer. It is unclear to me whether they interpreted the restriction on Haste as you did, or as a maximum limit to the number of weapon attacks as opposed to attacks in general, noting that there are non-weapon attack options granted by the attack action. \$\endgroup\$ – sharur Jun 14 '18 at 23:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ I know it was a request for clarification; I mainly meant that the ambiguity seems significant enough that it could stand alone as a distinct question as well. :) \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 15 '18 at 0:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.