14
\$\begingroup\$

Do bonuses stack if they come from 2 identical magic items that don't require attunement? In particular using 2 transmuter stones with 2 different effects.What if both stones give 10 speed?

\$\endgroup\$
26
\$\begingroup\$

No, the bonuses will not stack. Though it is not present in original printings, errata to the Dungeon Master's Guide (and later reprintings of the book) add a section on page 252, Combining Game Effects:

Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items. See the related rule in the “Combining Magical Effects” section of chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I knew this rule was there somewhere! What makes this a bit different/confusing is that the two stones can have completely different effects, even though they are the same feature. \$\endgroup\$ – J.E Jun 15 '18 at 8:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ That section of the DMG is actually errata, so it's not present in earlier prints of the book - I have a copy where it is not present at all. You should probably reference the published errata, or possibly the intro to XGtE, where the rule is effectively restated. \$\endgroup\$ – Carcer Jun 15 '18 at 8:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ @J.E this case is unfortunately somewhat ambiguous - XGtE states "But when two or more effects have the same proper name, only one of them (the most powerful one if their benefits aren’t identical)...". I could see this leading to arguments about which particular version of the transmuter's stone offers "the most powerful effect". \$\endgroup\$ – Carcer Jun 15 '18 at 8:45
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @Carcer yeah, and the wording in XGtE is making it worse by takling about effects' proper names, not items or features. Would that mean that the four different effects of the stones are each unique in this sense? (...I don't think so) \$\endgroup\$ – J.E Jun 15 '18 at 9:51
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Gandalfmeansme Now that I reread it after your explanation, I see now that here benefits is most commonly referring to the magnitude of the effect - i.e. that +1 to armor and +2 to armor are different benefits, and the +2 would be the winner (assuming both from a source with the same name). In this case, yes, picking two different elements for the resistance spell would only result in the higher level spell taking effect, or as per the Crawford quote you provided, the most recently cast if they are equal. I'll leave my previous comments for completeness, but I now realize that they are wrong. \$\endgroup\$ – cpcodes Jun 15 '18 at 21:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.