4
\$\begingroup\$

The rules for Spell Scrolls state that:

If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible.

However, the description of the warlock's Eyes of the Rune Keeper eldritch invocation (PHB p. 111) states:

You can read all writing.

Therefore, the writing wouldn't be unintelligible to the warlock (because the warlock can read it). Thus, if a warlock were to be able to perform any verbal or somatic components for a spell on a spell scroll, could they cast it even if it wasn't on the warlock spell list?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

No.

Being able to read the writing on the scroll is not the same as being able to cast the spell.

Jeremy Crawford, rules designer for 5e, confirms that this doesn't work here:

Does Eyes of the Rune Keeper work on magical runes?

Eyes of the Rune Keeper lets you read any form of writing, including the linguistic meaning of a rune, if any.

so does that mean they could read spell scrolls and cast with the normal DC for spell scroll castings?!

Nope.

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

No. Eyes of the Rune Keeper Does Not Read Spells.

tl;dr "Generally, you would not know anything about a scroll, even if you can read every language. Scrolls don't use a language."Daniel Zastoupil

In short, the words (if any) could be understood in a literal sense, but that doesn't get the meaning nor substance of the spell. Spells, such as those on [scrolls][2], don't have linguistic meaning. They are a [cipher][3].

see: this answer for a longer description

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.