5
\$\begingroup\$

You cast that spell, called the contingent spell, as part of casting contingency, expending spell slots for both
[emphasis mine]

If the spell I cast (say from a magic item or a racial trait) does not require a spell slot usually, does casting that spell as a contingent spell end up expending a spell slot as a result of contingency?

Here's an example of this practice:

  1. I'm a Duergar Wizard
  2. I cast contingency selecting enlarge/reduce from Duergar Magic as my contingent spell.

What is step 3?
Does contingency fail since the contingent spell doesnt expend a spell slot?
Do I expend a 2nd level slot (from the contingency description) and the spell works normally?
Does contingency work even without expending a spell slot?
Can I not chose my non-slotted-spell in the first place?
Something else?


Note:

I believe this is a separate question from If you have the ability to cast a spell without a spell slot can you cast that spell using a spell slot? as I may not be casting the spell using the slot but the slot is merely expended as part of the effect of contingency.

\$\endgroup\$

closed as too broad by David Coffron, nitsua60 Jun 18 '18 at 17:50

Please edit the question to limit it to a specific problem with enough detail to identify an adequate answer. Avoid asking multiple distinct questions at once. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Are you assuming that you CAN use a no-spell-slotted spell for Contingency? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jun 18 '18 at 16:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch i tried not to by including the "rhe spell fails" option. If you want to edit to make it more inconclusive feel free (I made a small edit) \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Jun 18 '18 at 16:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ As it stands, you've got several questions in here. I think you may need to focus on each one separately. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jun 18 '18 at 16:58
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Related (probably): rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/124689/… \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Jun 18 '18 at 16:58
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Closed as too broad at the request of the author, who intends to split it in two: chat.stackexchange.com/transcript/message/45215250#45215250 \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Jun 18 '18 at 17:51
1
\$\begingroup\$

No: it would not expend a slot

When the spell says "expending spell slots for both" it's natural to ask the question "which spell slots"? Do you have to spend a 6th level spell slot twice, since contingency is a 6th level spell? Certainly not: if that were the case you couldn't use Contingency until two levels after you learned it (since 11th level full casters only have one 6th level spell slot).

The natural conclusion is that you need to expend whatever level spell slot the spell usually requires. In your case, that requirement is no spell slot at all because the enlarge/reduce ability takes something other than a spell slot. Thus, you could cast "enlarge/reduce" with contingency, without needing to spend a spell slot (since you don't need to spend a slot to cast it normally).

As further evidence of this, consider the fact that there is consensus that you can use contingency with a cantrip. Thus, the text stating that you will be "expending spell slots for both" does not restrict this spell to spells that require spell slots (nor does it force spells to require spell slots when they normally do not).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Are you saying that a non-spell-slotted spell cannot be used with Contingency? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Jun 18 '18 at 16:57
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Whereas I agree this is the intent I believe more sources would go along way to supporting it. \$\endgroup\$ – Slagmoth Jun 18 '18 at 17:00

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.