1
\$\begingroup\$

The basic rules state for opportunity attacks:

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach.

RAW seems to imply that by circling around the enemy before leaving his reach oppportunity attacks are completely prevented. That would mean that in most situations for medium sized enemies, characters could easily leave the reach of them without using the disengage action or provoking opportunity attacks - am I wrong?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Sdjz, Purple Monkey dnd-5e Jun 20 '18 at 22:46

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • \$\begingroup\$ "characters could easily leave the reach of them without using the disengage action or provoking opportunity attacks" — how exactly? \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Jun 20 '18 at 22:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yikes, I guess the "you can see" part is there to make sure unseen enemies don't get OAd. Makes a lot more sense that way \$\endgroup\$ – Shikah Jun 20 '18 at 23:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ In 5e "unseen" means invisible, hidden enemies, or enemies behind total cover. \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Jun 20 '18 at 23:37