13
\$\begingroup\$

My character fell into boiling mud and I used misty step to get out. When I teleport am I still covered in boiling mud, and will I continue to take damage?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ What is the source of the boiling mud? \$\endgroup\$ – Bloodcinder Jun 21 '18 at 18:14
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related on Misty Stepping from the Iron Bands of Billaro \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jun 21 '18 at 18:26
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Is it the "boiling lake" at the north of the dungeon map? \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 21 '18 at 18:40
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ ...Or is it the room with the suspended platforms ("geysers and chains") at the east side of the map? \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 21 '18 at 18:48
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related question for what follows when you Misty Step rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/120716/… \$\endgroup\$ – Sir Cinnamon Jun 21 '18 at 19:01
19
\$\begingroup\$

According to the description from Tales of the Yawning Portal p. 100 (or here on DNDBeyond):

Any creature that falls into the boiling mud takes 44 (8d10) fire damage at the start of each of its turns for as long as it remains in the mud.

The adventure book does not describe any mechanic for sustained damage once the creature exits the boiling mud. Of course, your DM is free to houserule otherwise, but if he doesn't it can be assumed that the mud does not continue sticking to you in an amount enough to cause further damage once you're out (no matter how you get out).

Now to address your direct question: there is no mechanic for what happens to things stuck to you when you cast misty step. Personally, I would rule that there would be a thin layer/traces of mud stuck to you afterwards (the same way that teleporting out of water might leave you wet), but not enough to do any significant damage.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Is there a difference between being "in the mud" and having "some mud on you"? I'd say yes and agree with your assessment. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jun 21 '18 at 18:59
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The DM ruled it as boiling mud stuck on my person. I had to remove all my clothes while clinging to a rock and I lost all my items, including Blackrazor, which fell back into the boiling sea of mud. Had to run the rest of the dungeon completely naked. \$\endgroup\$ – Steve James Bradbury Magee Jun 21 '18 at 19:05
  • 9
    \$\begingroup\$ @SteveJamesBradburyMagee: The DM is the ultimate arbiter of the rules... Though that seems like a questionable and very unfun ruling. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 21 '18 at 19:06
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast Unless the character is a natural exhibitionist. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Jun 21 '18 at 20:08
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @SteveJamesBradburyMagee Well, if you are fine with that, you are fine. But 5e goes lengths to prevent losing items (especially magic items), so I have to ask: is your DM familiar and experienced with 5e? \$\endgroup\$ – HellSaint Jun 21 '18 at 20:17
4
\$\begingroup\$

No

The spell only teleports "you." In common D&D interpretation that means you and your currently worn/equipped items.

According to the DMG p246

For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.

This would not include liquids of any form, and so they cannot be teleported (without being in a container).

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I think the question is whether or not boiling mud would be considered a worn item (after all, you are wearing the mud.) \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jun 21 '18 at 18:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch I would say it doesn't count, but in the off case that someone would I've added another rule which discounts liquids altogether. \$\endgroup\$ – Sir Cinnamon Jun 21 '18 at 18:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ Not wearing the mud by choice :) \$\endgroup\$ – Steve James Bradbury Magee Jun 21 '18 at 18:37
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Teleportation as the ultimate bath? \$\endgroup\$ – Michael Richardson Jun 21 '18 at 20:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ It also telaports what you are carrying, being covered in mud means technically you are carrying the mud... \$\endgroup\$ – Garret Gang Jun 22 '18 at 0:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.