3
\$\begingroup\$

I'm currently playing an Undead Lord (a Cleric archetype) with the variant Undeath Channeling.

Undeath Channeling enhances the healing of channel negative energy by 50%. At level 8, the Undead Lord gain the Unlife Healer class feature, and his channel negative energy heals for an addition 50%.

Would this be calculated as:

  • adding 50% then 50% of the adjusted total? 4d6 +50% +50% (example: 21 + 10 (50% of 21) + 15 (50% of 31) = 46) adding 50% of the original roll twice;

  • or 4d6 +50% +50% (Example: 21 + 10 + 10 = 41)

I'm fairly certain it's the second one, adding 1/2 of the base roll twice, but I'm not sure. Also, with it adding (effectively) an additional 100% to the healing would it just add the full 21 for the two bonuses or would it add 10 twice?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

I suggest that the rule on combining multipliers gives the best indication. The Common Terms of the game are defined on page 11-13 of the Core Rulebook. On page 12:

Multiplying: When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiplier adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a x2 multiplier twice, the result would be x3, not x4.

A 50% increase can be considered to be a x1.5 multiplier. So two 1.5 multipliers translate into a x2 multiplier, ie the second solution in your question. This would mean that as it is a 100% multiplier, you would add 21 rather than add 10 twice.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.