10
\$\begingroup\$

Produce Flame 1 action, 10 minutes
A flame appears in your hand, harming neither you or your equipment. It sheds bright light in a 10-foot radius and dim light for an additional 10 feet. The spell ends if you dismiss it as an action or if you cast it again.

You can hurl the flame at a creature within 30 feet of you. Make a ranged spell attack. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 fire damage. The spell then ends.

The spell does not state whether attacking using the produced flame is a part of the spell, or requires another action on the next turn.

What happens if:

  1. I cast Produce Flame, and wants to attack in this turn. Can I do this?
  2. I cast Produce Flame, and later wants to attack in that turn. Do I consume an action, or it's "free" because I've spent an action to cast Produce Flame earlier?
\$\endgroup\$
21
\$\begingroup\$

Hurling the flame can be part of casting the spell, or an action afterwards.

The current wording of the second paragraph of the spell is (emphasis mine):

You can also attack with the flame, although doing so ends the spell. When you cast this spell, or as an action on a later turn, you can hurl the flame at a creature within 30 feet of you. Make a ranged spell attack. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 fire damage.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ While the current spell wording is clear, the heading you've used is unclear without then having to read the actual quoted text. As worded, your heading could seem to mean that you can't hurl the flame in the same turn you cast it. It would be better if you re-word your heading to make it clear that hurling the flame is either part of the action of casting it in the turn that it's cast, or if you don't hurl it in that turn, then it cost an action to hurl it in a later turn. For instance, you could use something like: "Hurling the flame is part of casting, or costs an action in later turns". \$\endgroup\$ – Makyen Jun 30 '18 at 22:40

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.