Assume that the target of dissonant whispers failed its Wisdom saving throw and that it cannot move.

I don't think that the reason the target cannot move is relevant, but for example it might have a condition that reduces its speed to 0 (such as grappled), or it might be surrounded by "obviously dangerous ground".

Does the target use its reaction to move 0 feet?
Or does it not use its reaction because it cannot move?
Or something else?


The target still uses its reaction.

Dissonant Whispers states:

On a failed save, it [...] must immediately use its reaction, if available, to move as far as its speed allows away from you.

If the creature's speed only allows it to move 0 feet away from you then that's as far as it moves, but it does still use its reaction.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ perhaps "must immediately use it's reaction" is the pertinent info to answer the OP's question. Otherwise excellent answer. +1 \$\endgroup\$ – ravery Jun 30 '18 at 23:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.