2
\$\begingroup\$

I'm confused about the rules of Requiem 2e with respect to Style Merits.

As far as I can tell, Requiem 2e itself doesn't define the Style keyword, but there's this in the God-Machine Rules Update, pg. 158:

Style Merits

Merits marked as Style Merits allow access to specialized maneuvers. Each maneuver is a prerequisite for the next in its sequence. So if a Style Merit has a three-dot maneuver and a four-dot maneuver, you must purchase the three-dot version before accessing the four-dot.

The presentation seems to indicate this is a special rule for Style Merits, but I'm not clear on exactly what the difference is.

If I want to learn the first three moves of Kindred Dueling, do I need to pay…

A. 1 XP for Dueling •, 2 XP for Dueling ••, 3 XP for Dueling •••, all written as separate merits on my sheet, for a total cost of 6 XP?

B. 1 XP for Dueling •, 1 XP to upgrade it to Dueling ••, 1 XP to upgrade it to Dueling •••, for a total cost of 3 XP?

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

With a bit more research, I was able to find this post by designer Olivia Hill (emphasis added):

Yeah. It's legacy text from before we changed the experience system.

If you want 3 dots in a Style, spend 3 Experiences. If you want 5, spend 5. It only costs 5 Experiences to get the whole Style. Where Styles differ from other Merits is, there's a new effect at every level. Allies 5 is just Allies, but bigger than Allies 4. If Allies were a Style, Allies 5 would have five separate abilities tied to it.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.