Quickly summarizing the situation so people may be able to understand it a little more. Our party was forced to brawl against a group of orcs in order to gain their respect to speak with their chieftain (long story, we had very good reason for doing this). It then became a battle royale. Our wizard was low health and next to our paladin, and had the idea to cast fog cloud to capture himself and the paladin within it so he could leave combat. He cast the spell, and then came down to the debate of if the paladin would get an AoO even though she was blinded.

Wizard was in threat range, but does an effect that causes an area to become heavily obscured cause the Paladin to lose threat range and the wizard be able to successfully flee to another area of the ring? Or does the paladin still have threat range and attack the wizard, even with fog cloud covering both of them? I looked over rules for 15 minutes after this situation but nothing comes up and it was ruled ig that it was fine to have AoO with disadvantage, but that just doesn't feel right. She might have heard wizard stepping away but the fog cloud was already in place. So by dnd rules does she get the opportunity attack or no?

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I don't think this is a duplicate as it requires system knowledge to conflate fog cloud obscurement with invisibility. \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Jul 5 '18 at 20:30
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ And questions with identical answers are not duplicates - only identical questions are duplicates. Fog Cloud is not identical to invisibility. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jul 5 '18 at 20:30
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch well it would be a duplicate of this question but I couldn’t close as a duplicate of that question. And that question is closed as a duplicate of the same question I closed this as a duplicate of. \$\endgroup\$ – Purple Monkey Jul 5 '18 at 21:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ @PurpleMonkey I think you are right. It should be a dupe of that question, adn that question should NOT be a dupe of the other. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jul 6 '18 at 12:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ @PurpleMonkey Cleaned up the dupes - do you agree? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jul 6 '18 at 13:56

No Opportunity Attack

Fog Cloud creates a:

sphere [that] spreads around corners, and its area is heavily obscured

An area that is Heavily Obscured makes (emphasis mine):

A creature effectively suffers from the blinded condition when trying to see something in that area.

The Blinded condition stipulates:

A blinded creature can't see

And finally, Opportunity Attacks occur (emphasis mine):

when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach

In the case of Fog Cloud with Heavy Obscurement, unless the creature has tremor sense or something else that enables them to 'see' you, you would be able to move away without triggering an Opportunity Attack.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Wait a sec, is this an experience based answer? ;) \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Jul 5 '18 at 20:43
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @KorvinStarmast I plead the fifth. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jul 5 '18 at 20:43
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch 5th edition? :) \$\endgroup\$ – NoOneIsHere Aug 31 '18 at 1:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.