12
\$\begingroup\$

Can a Warlock cast a spell using a lower level slot than the slots they have available?

For example, if a 9th level Warlock (who has 5th slots) comes into a possession of a Shield Guardian (who can store a spell of 4th level or lower), can the Warlock cast a spell using a lower slot for storage into the guardian?

\$\endgroup\$
15
\$\begingroup\$

No

From the warlock's Pact Magic feature, from PHB p. 107 or here in the basic rules (emphasis mine):

The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have. The table also shows what level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the same level.

In the section on casting a spell at a higher level, from PHB p. 201 or here in the basic rules (emphasis by @Carcer):

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.