8
\$\begingroup\$

Let’s say you place a Portable Hole against a wall, then walk inside its hole. Then, an evil wizard casts a fireball in the room where you put the hole.

Considering you are now in an extra-dimensional place, are you still in range of the fireball?

(The question also applies to an archer that would try to shoot at you from outside the hole.)

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Is the entrance of the hole open, or did someone close it after you went in? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jul 5 '18 at 23:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ Open (I suppose that you’re de facto out of range of everything when the hole is closed, but my hesitation relies as to when the hole is opened, considering that you’re still in another dimension) \$\endgroup\$ – Gael L Jul 5 '18 at 23:42
8
\$\begingroup\$

No, unless the hole is closed.

The description of the portable hole says:

A breathing creature within a closed portable hole can survive for up to 10 minutes, after which time it begins to suffocate.

which implies that if the hole is open, air can flow in and out. And if air can get in and out, then so can fireballs and arrows.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ah, I would have thought this worked like the dpace created by a Rope Trick. \$\endgroup\$ – Gael L Jul 6 '18 at 12:43
1
\$\begingroup\$

Fireballs No, Arrows Maybe

The Portable Hole states:

It unfolds into a circular sheet 6 feet in diameter. You can use an action to unfold a portable hole and place it on or against a solid surface, whereupon the portable hole creates an extradimensional hole 10 feet deep.

This suggests that once unfolded, there is now an open entrance that is 6' wide on the outside and 10' deep on the inside.

Fireball

A hole that is within the range of a fireball would definitely put anyone/anything inside at risk because Fireball states:

The fire spreads around corners. It ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried.

The magical fireball would extend into the hole and ignite anyone/anything inside it.

There is also a potential risk that the Portable Hole could be damaged by the fire as well.

Arrows

This is more of a DM decision, because it is unclear whether or not you can see into the environs of the portable hole. I could see a case for either, but it will depend on the GM determine line of sight. If there is one, you can fire at a target, if there isn't, then you'd have to pick a location in the hole at fire at disadvantage (unseen target.)

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.