10
\$\begingroup\$

Does the Vrock's spore ability inflict both the "poisoned" condition and poison damage, or just poison damage? The wording seems unclear.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Cœur Those who can’t answer without a quote don’t have the material expertise and shouldn’t be answering. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jul 6 '18 at 14:26
17
\$\begingroup\$

The target is poisoned

Each creature in that area must succeed on a DC 14 Constitution saving throw or become poisoned. While poisoned in this way, a target takes 5 (1d10) poison damage at the start of each of its turns.

The target is poisoned and suffers additional effects as long as they remain poisoned. A similar wording exists for many spells that inflict the Charmed condition and some additional effect, for example Dominate Person.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.