3
\$\begingroup\$

I was wondering whether you could take a move action in the middle of your Cast a Spell action (similar to moving between attacks), but the answers to this question say no.

However, can you cast the spell as part of the Ready action and use a trigger of "when I stop moving" or "when I move to that spot" (or something similar) and then expend the your reaction for the turn to release the spell?

And does this actually avoid triggering Mage Slayer or a Counterspell if the casting takes place out of sight or out of range?

Ready

When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time o f 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration.

Mage Slayer

When a creature within 5 feet of you casts a spell, you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against that creature.

Counterspell

Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when you see a creature within 60 feet of you casting a spell
You attempt to interrupt a creature in the process of casting a spell.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for finding the duplicate question. It is worded very differently from mine and so I did not find it when searching (but maybe this question will turn up in someone else's search now). FYI, the accepted answer (with clear support from a Jeremy) is that you can do this with a readied spell. \$\endgroup\$ – Nick Brown Jul 11 '18 at 15:05