5
\$\begingroup\$

Specifically when it comes to Adventurers League magic item count.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This is the one that is used to dust the stone golem? \$\endgroup\$ – GcL Jul 17 '18 at 13:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ It's on TOA p. 165, under the "Sarcophagus" section below "Treasure" for room 53, Crypt of the Sun Queen. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jul 24 '18 at 19:02
2
\$\begingroup\$

No.

Also, it can't be taken with at the end of the adventure.

From DDAL FAQ

While this applied to nonmagical items, it does indicate that treasure and equipment that can be kept will be listed in a treasure section.

Nonmagical Items. Only treasure and equipment specifically listed under a treasure subheading can be kept (and converted into gp) by the characters. Items not listed under a treasure subheading may be taken by the characters, but at the conclusion of the session, such items either crumble to dust, break, are lost, or are rendered useless—they can’t be used, sold, or otherwise kept.

From DDAL DMG

The general rule for mudane treasure

D&D Adventurers League adventure. Gold and Mundane Treasure. Coin, art objects, trade goods, and other found wealth are converted to a gold piece (gp) value at the conclusion of a session, episode, or adventure, which is then divided by the number of characters in the party. Each character should earn an equal share unless otherwise specified. As a general rule, items and treasure can’t be awarded unless it is described under a ‘Treasure’ subheading.

The following indicates similar ruling for magic items.

A permanent magic item can only be awarded if it, or the random magic item table it’s rolled from, is mentioned in the encounter in which it is found.

Since the scepter is not mentioned as treasure nor awarded from a table, it cannot be kept or sold after the adventure.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.