3
\$\begingroup\$

The shadow blade spell (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 164) states:

You weave together threads of shadow to create a sword of solidified gloom in your hand. This magic sword lasts until the spell ends. It counts as a simple melee weapon with which you are proficient. It deals 2d8 psychic damage on a hit and has the finesse, light, and thrown properties (range 20/60).

Is there a way to make a shadow blade into a pact weapon for a Pact of the Blade warlock? Or can I use an Eldritch Invocation to make it so?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Please don't share the full text of spells found outside free material. If they have the book users can look it up themselves. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Jul 19 '18 at 18:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ Are you asking whether there is an official rule to make this happen? Or are you asking if it would be balanced to do so? (Or something else?) \$\endgroup\$ – Gandalfmeansme Jul 19 '18 at 18:49
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @ Gandalfmeansme: Well since pointed that out...both \$\endgroup\$ – Jhyarelle Silver Jul 19 '18 at 19:22
15
\$\begingroup\$

The Shadow Blade doesn't exist long enough.

The duration of shadow blade is 1 minute (concentration). Pact of the Blade (PHB. 108, emphasis mine) states:

You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon [...] over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest.

Even assuming the ritual does not take concentration or you would have some way to circumvent it if it did, the shadow blade does not exist long enough to finish the ritual required to bind it.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ You beat me by seconds! Also I added in a section of the quote "while you hold the weapon" because without it there could be an argument about just summoning the sword at the end of the ritual or something. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jul 19 '18 at 19:09
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Side note, While a Shadow Blade is not eligible for a Pact Weapon, a Hexblade warlock can still imbue it with its Hex Warrior benefit. \$\endgroup\$ – Daniel Zastoupil Jul 19 '18 at 19:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok....what about using up an Invocation slot to have as an at will spell and doesn't count to number of spells known? \$\endgroup\$ – Jhyarelle Silver Jul 19 '18 at 19:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ @JhyarelleSilver There is not one that exists to do what you're describing. However, look up the Curse Bringer invocation in Unearthed Arcana. It is very similar to what you're looking for . \$\endgroup\$ – Daniel Zastoupil Jul 19 '18 at 19:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ @JhyarelleSilver: This is a different question then what you asked above. Feel free to put it in a new question so we can answer it! \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jul 19 '18 at 19:51
-1
\$\begingroup\$

Work with your DM to craft a magic weapon that has these properties. If you know the spell, and can figure out how to attach the spell to a weapon, you can then use your Pact of the Blade to summon your new magic weapon.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE Eric. Please take the tour and visit the help center to see how a Q&A site is not the same as a discussion forum. Have you done this, and come up with a time, cost, and rarity for such a blade (per the DMG magic item creation section)? If not, then the "back it up" requirement to support an answer to a question like this is missing. If you have made an item like this, then explaining the process/reasoning of how you came up with it in more detail would make for a good answer. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Sep 21 '18 at 16:47
-3
\$\begingroup\$

Do not forget that dipping in to a 3rd level sorceror can supply you with the metamagic of extended spell, which means you can extend the duration of shadow blade to 24 hours which is more than enough time to preform the binding ritual, so with enough patience and a sorcerorlock combo, it is possible, whether this would use spell slots or not when you cast it, is more likely than not leaning towards no, as it would cast it from your patrons magic rather than your own, but I'd recommend asking your DM. (I would consider it a form of mastery of the spell, such as signature spells and mystic arcanums)

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ That would let you extend the duration to 2 minutes, not to an hour. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Dec 8 '18 at 6:49
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ What Miniman said. The Extended Spell metamagic option says: "When you cast a spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer, you can spend 1 sorcery point to double its duration, to a maximum duration of 24 hours." 24 hours is just the maximum possible duration; relatively few spells even have a duration of 12 hours, which is the minimum spell duration needed for that upper limit of Extended Spell to be relevant. Any shorter duration would merely be doubled by Extended Spell, not increased to 24 hours. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Dec 8 '18 at 7:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.