A Duergar (SCAG, p. 104; MToF, p. 81) can cast enlarge/reduce once per day but with a few caveats (emphasis mine):

you can cast the enlarge/reduce spell on yourself..., using only the spell’s enlarge option

A Ring of Spell Storing can store any spell cast while holding the ring, but only preserves part of the qualities of the spell (doesn't appear to maintain the restriction on casting, emphasis mine):

Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring...

While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. 

Can a Ring of Spell Storing holding an enlarge/reduce spell cast from Duergar Magic be used for the Reduce effect? Can it target someone other than the wearer?


1 Answer 1



According to Sage Advice, you must use a spell slot to cast a spell into the ring. Racial spells do not require or even permit casting them using a spell slot.

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ That needs to be errata'd then. It is not nearly clear enough to reach that conclusion imo... \$\endgroup\$ Jul 20, 2018 at 17:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ It is a little ambigous but the ring does mention the use of a slot: "The level of the slot used to cast..." and "The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster" \$\endgroup\$ Jul 21, 2018 at 3:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ For clarity, that link refers to a tweet from Jeremy Crawford. Not the Sage Advice Compendium. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 15, 2021 at 1:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ At the time, Jeremy Crawford tweets were considered Sage Advice. I understand this has since changed, so i guess the answer now is, "ask your DM". \$\endgroup\$
    – Maaark
    Aug 10, 2021 at 12:44

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .