13
\$\begingroup\$

I'm creating a 10th level character which has 5 levels of Arcane Trickster Rogue and 5 levels of Drunken Master Monk. A 5th level ATR will have 3 1st level spell slots while the DMM has no slots.

When multiclassing, does my character keep using the regular Arcane Trickster Spellcasting table on PHB page 98 since the DMM is not a caster, or do I need to use the Multiclass Spellcasting table for a 5th level 1/3 caster only? Does the Multiclass table only matter if you are using levels from multiple casters?

\$\endgroup\$
23
\$\begingroup\$

You get spell slots as if you weren't multiclassed

This is explicitly stated in the Multiclassing rules for Spellcasting:

Once you have the Spellcasting feature from more than one class, use the rules below. If you multiclass but have the Spellcasting feature from only one class, you follow the rules as described in that class.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Gah, I read that section multiple times but must have missed it every time. Thank you! \$\endgroup\$ – bubbajake00 Jul 20 '18 at 18:19
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ It might be worth clarifying: If you are Arcane Trickster 5 and Drunken Master 5, you cast as an Arcane Trickster 5. \$\endgroup\$ – Ethan Jul 20 '18 at 19:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Ethan Do scaling Cantrips follow the same reasoning? \$\endgroup\$ – Daniel Zastoupil Jul 20 '18 at 20:43
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @DanielZastoupil see this question on cantrips \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Jul 20 '18 at 20:51
0
\$\begingroup\$

As mentioned above, you would follow the rules as described in that class. If you were to pick up a level of wizard, for example, to augment your Arcane Trickster abilities, you must then use the Multiclass Spellcasting Table.

Some people like to take a level or two into Warlock, as the Pact-Magic spellcasting feature grants you 'warlock-spellslots.' You regain them after a short rest, and they increase (in slot level) with your warlock level; however, you can never have more than 4 of them.

\$\endgroup\$
-5
\$\begingroup\$

There's no difference

Spellcasters all gain spells at the same rate, with 1/2 and 1/3 casters gaining them 1/2 and 1/3 as fast respectively. Compare the tables in the PHB for yourself.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ There is a difference. A level 4 arcane trickster rounds his levels up to determine spell slots. A level 4 AT / level 1 cleric rounds his levels down in AT to determine spell slots. \$\endgroup\$ – RonLugge Jul 21 '18 at 3:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.