The teleport spell allows one to teleport an object:

This spell instantly transports you and up to eight willing creatures of your choice that you can see within range, or a single object that you can see within range, to a destination you select. If you target an object, it must be able to fit entirely inside a 10-foot cube, and it can't be held or carried by an unwilling creature.

Suppose I want to send a chest full of items to someone far away. If I cast teleport on the chest to send it to them, do the contents go with it, or do they stay behind and spill out onto the floor where the chest used to be?

Does the answer change if, instead of a mundane container, I use a bag of holding?

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Historical note: Ah, the ol' teleporting-a-bag-of-coins question. No previous edition of Dungeons and Dragons explicitly answers this question, so generations of dungeon masters have had to come up with their own answers. \$\endgroup\$
    – GMJoe
    Jul 21, 2018 at 23:52
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Personally, the wording of this question seems more clear to me, so at the least I'm glad you asked it so it can serve as a signpost. :) ...That said, I think you could easily make this not a duplicate by just editing your question to focus on the Bag of Holding case. (Though you could also more generally ask what happens to carried items when the teleport spell is used, since that doesn't seem to be covered by an existing question.) \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Jul 22, 2018 at 0:53
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Oh, I didn't see your edit until after I accepted the duplication. Maybe I'll ask those separately at some point. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 22, 2018 at 1:03


Browse other questions tagged .