1
\$\begingroup\$

A SoP caster has no issues casting spells from staves, but its unclear if they have the ability to recharge them. Would giving up a spell point each day be equivalent to the lose of a spell?

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

As far as I'm aware, there aren't any rules that would allow you to use spell points to add charges to any magical item. You could potentially use rituals in order to recharge them. That would be somewhat funky on the bit that requires the spell caster to forgo a prepared spell or spell slot in order to recharge the stuff, so it would need DM approval. Though anything you do at this point is pretty much house-ruling it anyway.

Just giving up one spell point doesn't seem equivalent to losing one spell, especially not for high-level spells. Caster level should probably be a requirement as well (something like CL equal to staff's CL, or the level at which a Vancian caster would be able to cast the staff's highest level), and you should probably need more spell points for high-level spells. You could consider something like 1 SP for spells up to 3rd level, 2 SP for spells between 4th and 6th level, and 3 SP for spells between 7th and 9th level. This seems to fit reasonably well with the SP cost for using advanced talents (which mimic high-level spells).

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

There's actually something in one of the spheres that explains how many spell points equate to a spell slot, it's 1 spell point for levels 1-2, 2 for levels 3-5, 3 for levels 6-8, and 4 for level 8. I'd agree that it would most likely need DM approval but those are the numbers that I found.

http://spheresofpower.wikidot.com/blood

It's specifically under the Mana Bleed Talent that I found the numbers. Creatures that possess spell slots instead lose spell slots, based on the level of the slot. Each slot is equivalent to a number of spell points: level 1-2: 1 spell point, 3-5: 2 spell points, 6-8: 3 spell points, 9: 4 spell points. The target creature chooses which spell slots are lost.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Feb 11 at 4:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ It would be helpful if you could link to the page where you found those numbers. Sources are always appreciated. \$\endgroup\$ – GreedyRadish Feb 11 at 8:54

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.