0
\$\begingroup\$

If I have the Improved Precise Shot feat through the Ranger's Archery Combat Style, but don't have Precise Shot, do I still incur the -4 penalty to ranged attacks for firing into melee?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You actually quoted all of the relevant rules in your post...which part of that gave rise to doubt?? \$\endgroup\$ – YogoZuno Jul 23 '18 at 22:52
6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

The benefit of Improved Precise Shot is:

Your ranged attacks ignore the AC bonus granted to targets by anything less than total cover, and the miss chance granted to targets by anything less than total concealment. Total cover and total concealment provide their normal benefits against your ranged attacks.

The benefit of Precise Shot is:

You can shoot or throw ranged weapons at an opponent engaged in melee without taking the standard –4 penalty on your attack roll.

The penalty for firing into melee is not an AC bonus, and is not specified as being due to cover or concealment, so IPS doesn't cover it.

(Also, on a meta level, if you automatically got the effects of PS from taking IPS, why would any ranger ever take PS?)

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.