3
\$\begingroup\$

So, I have a wonderfully overpowered campaign I am taking part in, in which we have a level 20 gestalt pathfinder character. I am making a bloodrager/sorcerer, both crossblooded abyssal and verdant bloodlines. At level 15, the sorcerer bloodline powers for abyssal and verdant are both rather miserable, and I was wondering if I could swap this level 15 power for a bloodline mutation, given that there is this line:

Whenever a bloodrager or a sorcerer gains a new bloodline power, she can swap her bloodline power for a bloodline mutation whose prerequisites she meets

Is this possible, or are bloodline mutations blocked in at 1st, 4th, and 9th levels for sorcerers?

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

The current mutations are available only at their listed levels

The Bloodline Mutation was created specially to allow a more diverse customization of your sorcerer bloodline powers. The only restriction is that you must meet the prerequisites for that bloodline mutation:

Although heirs to similar arcane bloodlines may share commonalities, the unique circumstances in which a bloodline enters a bloodrager or sorcerer’s lineage can result in the manifestation of particularly strange or unusual bloodline powers known as mutations. Whenever a bloodrager or a sorcerer gains a new bloodline power, she can swap her bloodline power for a bloodline mutation whose prerequisites she meets. Once this choice is made, it cannot be changed, and a bloodrager or sorcerer cannot swap a bloodline power that she has altered or replaced with an archetype for a bloodline mutation. A bloodrager need not be in a bloodrage to use her bloodline mutation powers. Alternatively, a bloodrager or sorcerer can select a bloodline mutation in place of a bloodline bonus feat, provided her class level is at least equal to the level of the bloodline ability the mutation normally replaces.

Also note that when replacing a bloodline bonus feat, you have a minimum level to replace, so that was certainly considered by the developers.

However, do note that the 3 published mutations have a more specific wording that does not allow you to replace a 15th level granted bloodline power:

Blood Havoc

This ability replaces the sorcerer’s 1st-level bloodline power or the bloodrager’s 4th-level bloodline power.

Blood Intensity

This ability replaces the sorcerer’s 3rd-level bloodline power or the bloodrager’s 8th-level bloodline power.

Blood Piercing

This ability replaces the sorcerer’s 9th-level bloodline power or the bloodrager’s 4th-level bloodline power.

So, while the bloodline mutation rule certainly would allow for a mutations, in general, to replace a lower level power, the published mutations do not. This has been confirmed by the author, Alexander Augunas, as well:

When I wrote bloodline mutations, I intended you to swap what I listed as a swappable power. If you don't want to swap that power, take it as a feat.

This means that your only option is to replace one of the bloodline bonus feats gained at least at the level of the bloodline mutation you want to obtain, at 13th level, for instance.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thanks, I was a bit confused if the original text was in conflict with that bit in each mutation's wording, so a case of specific vs specific, but as you pointed out, it was actually only general vs specific. \$\endgroup\$ – Pethrax Jul 25 '18 at 13:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.