5
\$\begingroup\$

My wizard has access to dimension door and misty step. The problem is that in my campaign, the Astral Plane is broken, inaccessible, and mingled with the Material Plane, therefore unable to be traveled through. Do teleportation spells transport targets through the Astral Plane?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

In D&D 3.5 this was true, as the quote below shows. In D&D 5e nothing in the rules makes it necessary to travel through the astral plane to teleport. Magic has changed. (Plenty of things with the same name work differently in different editions of this game).

Teleport in 3.5

A teleportation spell transports one or more creatures or objects a great distance. The most powerful of these spells can cross planar boundaries. Unlike summoning spells, the transportation is (unless otherwise noted) one-way and not dispellable. Teleportation is instantaneous travel through the Astral Plane. Anything that blocks astral travel also blocks teleportation.

The D&D 5e rules do not add the Astral element to this spell:

Teleport
This spell instantly transports you and up to eight willing creatures of your choice that you can see within range, or a single object that you can see within range, to a destination you select. If you target an object, it must be able to fit entirely inside a 10-foot cube, and it can’t be held or carried by an unwilling creature. (Basic Rules, p. 102; PHB p. 281)

If you have decided to nerf those spells, you should probably let them refund those spells, as they wouldn't have picked them if useless.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ You might want to point out that your quote references D&D 3.5, not D&D 5.0. As you point out, they're different. \$\endgroup\$ – Jack Jul 29 '18 at 18:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ Sure, I thought that was implied, but I'll edit that to make it clear. \$\endgroup\$ – Nepene Nep Jul 29 '18 at 18:14
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I moved your comparison of editions up top: the "bottom line up front" approach works better when any of us asks about something that we remember from another edition. Also added the comparable rules text to show the difference. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Jul 29 '18 at 18:47
7
\$\begingroup\$

Characters do not travel through the Astral Plane when teleporting.

From the PHB

You teleport yourself from your current location to any other spot within range. You arrive at exactly the spot desired.

RAW, the only relevant locations are where the spellcaster starts and where he ends up. Based on the duration of the spell (Instantaneous), there isn't time to be in another plane than the one you are in. You are just making a door to another point you can imagine within range.

Now of course, since the means is not mentioned, you could easily homebrew that the players travel through the Astral Plane when teleporting, but that is not how the spell is written in the PHB.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.