The antimagic field spell says that "within the sphere, spells can't be cast", and spells out some more of the specific effects of this:
Targeted Effects. Spells and other magical effects, such as magic missile and charm person, that target a creature or an object in the sphere have no effect on that target.
Areas of Magic. The area of another spell or magical effect, such as fireball, can't extend into the sphere. If the sphere overlaps an area of magic, the part of the area that is covered by the sphere is suppressed. For example, the flames created by a wall of fire are suppressed within the sphere, creating a gap in the wall if the overlap is large enough.
(There are also several other effects, but they relate to suppression of already-cast spells, magic items, etc., rather than the casting of new spells.)
These rules alone seem to leave some corner cases ambiguous. For example, none of the named list of effects specifically says that spells cast by a creature inside the field are suppressed, but it seems like this would be the case based on the introductory text before that list. So I would like to ask about some specific corner cases.
In which of the following situations would antimagic field suppress the spell or otherwise prevent it from affecting the target?
- The spell's caster is inside the field, while the target or area of effect is entirely outside the field.
- The caster and target are on opposite sides of the field, such that the line of effect passes through the field.
- Same as (2), but the spell's description explicitly says it launches a projectile, beam, ray, or line-shaped area of effect at the target, as in scorching ray, disintegrate, or lightning bolt, such that the projectile or beam's path would take it through the field.
- A creature is standing just outside the field, and an area of effect spell that would normally hit the creature is cast centered on a point within the field, e.g. fireball.
I'm fairly sure I know the answers to (1) and (2), but (3) and (4) seem harder to answer.