This question by V2Blast piqued my interest into the subject of what mounts can and cannot do.

If a paladin uses the find steed spell to find a mount that could possibly attack and such, could he get off his mount and have it use the Help action to distract an enemy in order to gain advantage on the next attack against that enemy?


Technically yes.

Following this answer pointed out by V2Blast:

While mounted, you can choose whether to control it or let it be independent. If you choose to control it, it is limited by the normal rules to the Dash, Dodge and Disengage actions, but if you use it as an uncontrolled mount, it can do whatever.

While dismounted, the steed takes part in combat as a normal creatures would and:

When a monster takes its action, it can choose from the options in the Actions section of its stat block or use one of the actions available to all creatures, such as the Dash or Hide action.

And so it is free to use the Help action. Moreover, you are able to fully command it.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.