5
\$\begingroup\$

Let's imagine the following situation:

We have a party of adventurers: Tom the Wizard, Bob the Cleric and Jerry the Monk. The three adventurers are surrounded by many ill-intended creatures.

Tom casts an 8th-level globe of invulnerability (surrounding himself and his friends -- let's say he does not get counterspelled), then Bob the Cleric triggers a Stunning symbol (for example, by saying "Activate!") on the ground next to the limit of the globe (that Bob had previously inscribed there). The enemies fail their save and are now stunned, but the three adventurers, being inside the globe, aren't affected. Jerry now wants to go outside the globe, whack an enemy or two, then go back inside the globe to end his turn inside of it.

The symbol spell, as well as other lingering areas of effect, says that "any creature that enters the sphere or ends its turn there is affected".

When Jerry leaves the globe, is he considered as having entered the symbol's sphere (thus needing to make the saving throw), or was he already considered to be inside of it, even if the globe protected him from its effects (thus not having to make the saving throw when he leaves the globe)?

My hesitation relies on the fact that, here, Jerry is within the sphere created by the symbol, but the globe's text says that "The barrier also blocks areas of effect that reach its area". Not sure here if the word "blocks" makes it so that you're still considered inside the area or not.

The question also applies for other lingering spells that affect creatures when they enter the area.

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

The globe explicitly excludes its area from the area of effect of other spells.

The globe of invulnerability spell description states:

Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot. Such a spell can target creatures and objects within the barrier, but the spell has no effect on them. Similarly, the area within the barrier is excluded from the areas affected by such spells.

In your example, Jerry is outside of the area of Bob's symbol while inside the globe. Jerry will thus need to make a Wisdom save when he exits the globe, for entering the area of effect of the symbol.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ahh, once again, I had the wrong wording of the spell. Well well well. \$\endgroup\$ – Gael L Aug 1 '18 at 18:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @GaelL: Yep, that's why it's always important to check the description from an official source. Unofficial wikis and such might reword things, causing problems. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Aug 1 '18 at 19:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.