8
\$\begingroup\$

Magic jar has a duration of "Until dispelled", but dispel magic targets...

one object, creature, or magic effect within range

Magic jar involves multiple things (a container, yourself, a creature, both souls) but it's unclear to me what the spell is technically "on" (emphasis below is mine)

Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends

What exactly do you have to target to dispel magic jar with dispel magic?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Cast Dispel on the Target of the Magic Jar

The target of magic jar is always in the jar or possessing a body. Wherever that is should be the target for dispel magic.

In the description of the spell, the target of the spell is referred to as "you". Wherever that "you" is, is where the target of magic jar is, and should be the target of dispel magic.

Initially in the Container

The "you" is in the container.

Your body falls into a catatonic state as your soul leaves it and enters the container you used for the spell's material component... The only action you can take is to project your soul up to 100 feet out of the container, either returning to your living body (and ending the spell) or attempting to possess a humanoids body.

Possessing a Host Body

The "you" is in the host body.

While possessing a body, you can use your action to return from the host body to the container if it is within 100 feet of you, returning the host creature's soul to its body

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DavidCoffron Yes. I think that is the case. \$\endgroup\$ – GcL Aug 1 '18 at 21:03

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.