Are there rules for the attacker to grapple multiple defenders? Can that attacker, with more than two arms, attack a new defender each round, or grapple many defenders as a full round action? I am looking for a RAW answer; if I have to I'll house rule it.

The creature I am making resembles a displacer beast, with six tentacles and a mouth like a lamprey. I would like to use the bite feature only if the defender is grappled; defenders breaking grapple will free themselves from the bite. While it can only bite one at a time, should a defender break free it can then bite another.


Yes, some monsters can do this.

Check out the Kraken.

It can Multiattack for three tentacle attacks in one action, each of which can grapple a different target, until all of its ten arms are full.

An ability like this would have to appear on a monster's stat block; it's not really generalizable.

Since you’re creatung the monster, you can give it a Multiattack action that says how its multiple grapples work.

| improve this answer | |
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ A Roper (MM., p 261) would be a good lower level example of this, as well. \$\endgroup\$ – Red Orca Aug 6 '18 at 5:00

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.